Latest News

EOS News 11 Jun 2015

Historically, only three quakes with magnitudes larger than Friday’s quake have occurred in Sabah in the past 100 years.

EOS News 20 May 2015

A scientific expedition, Mentawai Gap—Tsunami Earthquake Risk Assessment (MEGA-TERA), will be co-led by EOS Professor Paul Tapponnier, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, Professor Satish...

EOS News 30 Apr 2015

In a brief interview with National Public Radio, EOS Director and seismologist Professor Kerry Sieh explains the mechanics of plate movement, the same process responsible for Saturday’s 7.8-...

EOS News 28 Apr 2015

The recent Nepal earthquake followed a historical pattern. This was the most recent discovery made by EOS Professor Paul Tapponnier and his colleague, Laurent Bollinger from the CEA Research...

EOS News 28 Apr 2015

In an interview with TODAY newspaper, Assistant Professor Judith Hubbard said that the region surrounding Kathmandu might experience more earthquakes in the future.

1
2
3
4
5

Recent Earthquakes

SOURCE: US GEOLOGICAL SURVEY

Friday, July 3, 2015 - 01:07
Sunday, June 28, 2015 - 08:10
Sunday, June 28, 2015 - 01:05
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 - 22:32
Tuesday, June 23, 2015 - 12:18
Saturday, June 20, 2015 - 02:10
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 - 12:51
Friday, June 12, 2015 - 11:07
Sunday, June 7, 2015 - 04:54
Thursday, June 4, 2015 - 23:15
Saturday, May 30, 2015 - 18:49
Saturday, May 30, 2015 - 11:23
Friday, May 29, 2015 - 07:00
Friday, May 29, 2015 - 07:00
Sunday, May 24, 2015 - 04:53

Volcanic Activity

SOURCE: SMITHSONIAN INSTITUTION

Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 06:37