Highlights

Earth In The News 16 Apr 2016

Less than 48 hours after Japan was struck by a magnitude-6.2 earthquake, a second event of magnitude-7.0 occurred in the same region on 16 April 2016.

Earth In The News 14 Apr 2016

On 13 April 2016, a magnitude-6.9 earthquake struck northwest Myanmar.

EOS News 21 Mar 2016

The newly-unveiled 3D Visualisation Laboratory enables scientists and students understand complex structures and features from different angles.

Aftermath of the 2009 tsunami seen in Padang, Sumatra, Indonesia. Photo by Kerry Sieh.

Asia and the Pacific are most at risk from natural disasters, according to a report from the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction.

Magma

In a paper published in Geology, a peer-reviewed scientific journal published by...

1
2
3
4
5

Recent Earthquakes

SOURCE: US GEOLOGICAL SURVEY

Friday, April 29, 2016 - 01:33
Thursday, April 28, 2016 - 19:33
Saturday, April 16, 2016 - 23:58
Friday, April 15, 2016 - 16:45
Friday, April 15, 2016 - 16:44
Friday, April 15, 2016 - 16:25
Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 21:50
Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 15:03
Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 12:26
Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 13:55
Sunday, April 10, 2016 - 10:28
Thursday, April 7, 2016 - 03:32
Wednesday, April 6, 2016 - 06:58
Sunday, April 3, 2016 - 08:23
Sunday, April 3, 2016 - 08:23

Volcanic Activity

SOURCE: SMITHSONIAN INSTITUTION